75-Meters Local California AM Activity

Discussion in 'Ham Bands' started by W5HRO, Jun 19, 2014.

1. W5HRO

W5HRO Administrator

Not much local AM activity here in CA this time of year. The 3870 group does still get on Saturday mornings, but its pretty sparse right now. Nothing else but SSB activity :icon_thumbdown:

2. KG6ABF

KG6ABF Member

Have you heard about the San Diego AMI group? 3.870 Mondays @ around 7 PM. Signals into So Cal have been quite good lately.

Scott

3. W5HRO

W5HRO Administrator

Yeah, I've heard those guys before. My antenna has been down this summer so I have not had a receiver on for the past couple on months.

Anyway, one of them was Ron, W6OM, but the last I heard he was having health problems. As a matter of fact the last time I heard the group on the air they were talking about him. I hope he didn't become SK :confused:

4. KG6ABF

KG6ABF Member

I have been checking in on this net for about the last 3 months give or take. That said I am still learning the regulars and those who pop in there from time to time. I may have spoken with the gentleman and then again possibly not during the net. I have to add due to my limited time on it I simply don't know everyone yet. I tend to spend more time on the Vintage SSB nets or just general band hopping.

I also have run across activity on 3.870 on Saturday morning circa 8 AM PST, Wednesday evenings from around 7 PM till as late as 10 PM with quite a few running retired broadcast transmitters.

At the top of 40 meters around 7.295 or so some stations have been operating during the day, so you might want to look around there as well.