Johnson Viking II Restoration

Discussion in 'Technical' started by K8CCA, Mar 5, 2016.

1. K8CCA

K8CCA Member

Hello to the Forum, this is my first posting here. I am new to AM, but have messed around with vintage rigs for many years. I seem to prefer to buy everything broken. I enjoy fixing the old rigs.

I have been wanting to get on AM with vintage gear for a while. Last year I restored a HQ-180 that came out quite nicely, and I have been looking for a proper vintage transmitter for a while. I found a Johnson Viking 2 and figured why not. I brought it home and of course tore it apart to start on the restore. I found that the filament wiring had burned down and went to work re-wiring the old girl. I have replaced the wiring, wax paper capacitors, and the electrolytic capacitors. I also cleaned the old girl up and found a few mistakes in the original build. 4 joints had never been soldered! After I get the transmitter put back together, I will start on the Johnson VFO 122 and then onto the air.

Here are the photos, enjoy!

Here is the front panel before cleaning

Here is some of the burned up wiring

20160227_165421.jpg~original.jpeg 20160227_165438.jpg~original.jpeg 20160227_170335.jpg~original.jpeg 20160227_170423.jpg~original.jpeg
  2. W5HRO

W5HRO Administrator

Does the filament winding in the power transformer still work? I wonder if it was damaged or not?

Someone must have had a tube filament short, a .005uF cap or the green wire was shorted to one those mounting screws. Maybe the edge of one of the nuts went through the green insulation and shorted it.
  3. W6MQI

W6MQI Member