AM Phone on 160/80M Activity

Discussion in 'Chat' started by KA4KOE, Oct 28, 2015.

1. KA4KOE

KA4KOE Guest

Myself and a couple of other folks have noticed a lack of resurgence in activity given the lowered static levels in the fall, at least as it seems in SE US.

Is this a typical activity pattern? I worry with all this effort and expense I'm sinking into The Phil-i-Buster (Gates BC1T).

I'm still fairly new to the scene of serious AM operation (under 3 years) so I'm not sure what's normal other than slopbucket-envy-QRM.

Thanks.

PHILIP

2. W5HRO

W5HRO Administrator

In your neck of the woods there should be activity around 3880 and then also on 3885 later at night as the band gets longer. I think most of the old big guns are SK now though except for maybe Don, but from what I've heard through the Internet the past few years there should be a ton of newbies around what they now call that 3885 ghetto area. That could have been exaggerated though, but I’ve heard it became pretty trashed out with really weak AM’ers and many on riceboxes since I’ve been gone.

160-meters is a whole different animal and there never has been much activity on there. It has always been kind of sparse, but when winter arrives and it starts getting cold it usually gets better and the guys who are still around should start getting on there. It’s probably not like it once was though, because like I said, most of the old big guns are dead now.

I’m really too far away now to be able to tell you for certain, but we have lots of AM activity here on the west coast and mostly around 3870, but as soon as I get back on I plan to start calling CQ on 3880 regularly. Maybe we can punch a hole there with super loud audio and open things up from east to west and bring back the old days.

3. W5HRO

W5HRO Administrator

Phillip,

I'm not sure how active Andy still is, but it looks like he just updated his webpage recently.

http://173.230.252.58/~wa4kcy/